Meet the Team

 

Today the team begins the 550 mile journey to Isle Royale. They will stop along the way tonight to take care of  final preparations for the expedition. Happy traveling Team! While they are on the road, let’s get to know the team members a little better…

??????????????????????The Youth Scientist team sharing their knowledge at Woodland Elementary school in Kingsford, Michigan

??????????????????????

Team Member: Olivia

What are your favorite hobbies or activities you enjoy? I enjoy playing basketball, running track, and just hanging out with my friends and family (and dog).

What are your favorite classes?  I enjoy math and science.

How would you describe yourself?  I’m fun, energetic, loud, adventurous, creative, and curious.

What are you most looking forward to about doing science on Isle Royale?  I’m looking forward to working with the scientists and getting my hands dirty in interesting experiments. And I am excited to pass my knowledge of the island and of nature, on to other people.

What animal or plant would you most like to study?  I would most like to study moose on the island. And in general, all marine and lake life.

 

 ??????????????????????

Team Member: Luke

What are your favorite hobbies or activities you enjoy?  I enjoy sports, such as basketball, football and soccer. I also play the trumpet in band and like to hunt and fish.

What are your favorite classes?  My favorite classes are P.E., science, and math.

How would you describe yourself?  I’m 99% oxygen, carbon, hydrogen, nitrogen and calcium.

What are you most looking forward to about doing science on Isle Royale?  I’m really excited to learn about the plants and animals we are studying in their natural habitats, instead of learning about them in a classroom.

What animal or plant would you most like to study?  I would most like to study moose on Isle Royale.

 

 August

Team Member: August

What are your favorite hobbies or activities you enjoy?  I enjoy running track, reading and going to the Porcupine Mountains to camp.

What are your favorite classes?  I like language arts and science.

How would you describe yourself?  I am responsible and trustworthy.

What are you most looking forward to about doing science on Isle Royale?  The moose/wolf study is something I find very intriguing.

What animal or plant would you most like to study?  I would like to study the wolf.

 

?????????????????????? 

Team Member: Valerie

What are your favorite hobbies or activities you enjoy?  I enjoy hanging out with friends and family, whether I’m skiing, snowboarding, running, doing school work or simply popping bubble wrap (anything that isn’t an everyday task).

What are your favorite classes?  Math, science, and language arts

How would you describe yourself?  I am a very energetic and curious person.

What are you most looking forward to about doing science on Isle Royale?  I find myself looking forward to the field work. Also, I look forward to collecting data to get others interested in what we are doing.

What animal or plant would you most like to study?  Out of all species, I would most want to study dolphins.

 

  ??????????????????????

Team Member: Matt

What are your favorite hobbies or activities you enjoy?  I like to play basketball, baseball, and football. I like to hunt and be outdoors.

What are your favorite classes?  I like science, social studies, and math.

How would you describe yourself?  I am funny, intelligent, and caring.

What are you most looking forward to about doing science on Isle Royale?  I am looking forward to meeting the scientists and talking to them about the island.

What animal or plant would you most like to study?  I would like to learn more about the moose and wolves on Isle Royale.

 

??????????????????????

Team Member: Tori

What are your favorite hobbies or activities you enjoy?  I enjoy being busy and constantly on my feet doing activities with passionate individuals such as, skiing, volleyball, basketball, swimming or even exploring.

What are your favorite classes?  My favorite classes have always been math and science. In math class you explore a world of numbers and different ways to use and understand them. In science you learn and perform different test to grasp more about our surroundings.

How would you describe yourself?  I am precise, determined, responsible, hard-working, loyal character.

What are you most looking forward to about doing science on Isle Royale?  I am looking forward to doing science on Isle Royale to understand and be enlightened by the different plant and animal species that exist on the precious island.

What animal or plant would you most like to study?  I would be very interested to study bats because I believe these mammals are very sharp, complex and interesting. For instance, Red Bats prey on hawks, owls and Blue Jays!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.